The Colorado Shooting

It’s been a really weird day for me. I’m not entirely sure why this news story has affected me so much. I think it’s because I played the “what-if” game. I thought about how I was in a movie theater just a few weeks ago. I imagine I felt much the same way that the movie-goers last night felt. I was bouncing up and down with excitement, couldn’t stop smiling. And before me played out an amazing story, a story of love, of justice, of doing everything you can with what you have to make the world a better place. And then I imagined “what if” some lunatic came into the theater with a gun. And there I was, sitting with my best friends or my baby sister, powerless against this terrible force. How would I react? What would I do? Would I panic? Would I push Allie under the seat and shield her? What would I say to the two girls who have known me since elementary school, the two who know me better than I know myself, if I thought those were our last moments together? Would I survive? Would they? Could our local police respond fast enough to save lives? And my heart just aches for the families who were affected. Something so innocent, so awesome as a kick-ass superhero movie, destroyed by a lunatic with a gun. I wonder why, and I resign myself to the fact that there is no answer. There is nothing logical or rational about what happened. That scares me more than I can say. No reason, no motivation, could ever be given that would make sense. Innocent people, children, babies, young people with so much potential, killed and wounded. My prayers, my thoughts and healing energy are sent to Aurora. May God be with us. May we come together to prevent this senseless violence from taking anymore innocent lives.

Yours,

Vanessa  

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

