Another Week Bites the Dust…

And another one’s gone and another one’s gone… Two weeks left until I’m done with school! And at the time of writing, 20 days 15 hours and 26 minutes left until I leave for Florida! (Countdown clock is here!) I’m going to Universal Studios in Orlando for a fun-filled five days with my two best friends. We’ve been planning this trip for, no joke, 2 years. And it’s finally happening! I’m so excited.

I love amusement parks so much. I think it’s partially because lots of my family’s bonding time has been at amusement parks. You can learn a lot about a person by their amusement park style. My mom is awesome at taking control, coordinating everyone and shepherding the group from place to place to make sure we don’t miss a thing. My dad will stand in line with us, cracking jokes to pass the time. My brother sort of takes after my mom, wanting to fit everything in and be where we need to be when we need to be there (although he is much more insistent, whereas Mom does her best to make everyone happy). My sister goes with the flow, and is so friendly she’ll often get on the ride with all of her newest best friends. I’m also fairly easy going, though much more shy. I’m the one that’s likely to say, “Did you notice that cool Easter Egg the geniuses at Universal/ the Imagineers put into the queue?” And then point out how the newspaper article on the wall about Doc Oc had P. Parker as the byline or something.

Of course, my absolute favorite thing about amusement parks has got to be the roller coasters. I’ve literally lost count of how many times I’ve ridden the Ride of Steel at Darien Lake. To me, nothing beats the rush of flying through the air at 60 miles an hour with nothing but my wits and a lap-bar. And like any junkie, this adrenaline junkie always wants more. I will gladly wait 2 hours in line to ride the newest, biggest, fastest machine in town. The big hills, the big loops, I’ll go upside down, have my feet hang out, standing up, laying down, whatever they can think of, I’ll ride it. I even like the old-school wooden coasters, although riding them more than a couple of times can really knock you around.

In short, I’m not wishing the semester away, but I’m really looking forward to it being over. I can’t wait to reconnect with my old friends doing something that we all love. 🙂

Yours,

Vanessa

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

