Love all

I reconnected with an old love today, and an old pain. It all started at lunch, when I asked a couple of friends if they wanted to play tennis. I really missed the sport, I brought my racquet back to school with me and it was a beautiful day. My friend Michelle took me up on the offer and we played a set against each other. We found courts a little ways off campus (since the campus ones were being used by the varsity teams). She took an early lead, but I caught up until we were tied 4-4. Michelle pulled ahead again and we ended the set 4-6. It was awesome to reconnect with the physicality of the sport. Running around, lining up the shot and smacking the ball over the net, anticipating the return and doing it all over again. The solid thunk of a good shot, the fresh air and sunshine, it’s practically a religious experience. It’s amazing to feel strong and capable and in control. It’s also pretty cool to have a good conversation and enjoy competition with a well-matched opponent. Of course, after tennis is always the old ache. I had a stress fracture in one of the small bones in my foot, which went undiagnosed for quite some time. As a result, I have some arthritis in the joint and it still gets inflamed after lots of running on hard surfaces. I had surgery 7.5 months ago to remove the broken bone. I can tell you, a bad day post-op feels about the same as a good day pre-op and for that it was all worth it.

Yours,

Vanessa

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

