And the #1 awesome thing is….

Anything you want it to be. Awesome!

And that was it. With those seven little words, it was over. 1000awesomethings.com was a 4-year long project, dedicated to identifying some little beautiful thing from life. Things like the smell of brand new tennis balls, big fat asses and your birthday week. It was simple and beautiful and a bright spot in the darkness of the internet. It never failed to make me smile, and I did what I could to introduce others to it. And tonight, I eagerly refreshed the page to find out what number one would be. And my first thought was “Is this a joke?” I was sad and disappointed and a little angry. But I’ve thought it over a bit, and I think it’s an appropriate ending. It’s all about finding the beautiful within the mundane, and the last post is encouraging us to go out and continue doing that. So friends, it’s anything you want it to be.

AWESOME!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. “And my first thought was “Is this a joke?” I was sad and disappointed and a little angry”
    Me too! But I did something about it and wrote my own blog post detailing my disappointment! Oddly enough, it appears mty comment on #1 has been removed from Neil’s site! I can’t find it anywhere, so I can only assume a thick skin and maturity are not on his list of “AWESOME THINGS”!
    I’m glad you enjoyed his work, though.
    By the way, your blog rocks equally hard!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

